SEMAplus: Deterioration forecasts for sewer systems

Sewers are important infrastructures of our cities, which must be maintained in substance and value. With SEMAplus, we provide innovative, sustainable and – last but not least – cost-saving solutions to respond to this challenge.

Do you require information about the current condition of your complete sewer network as well as a rehabilitation plan for the decades to come? SEMAplus can provide you with rapid and accurate information, and offers you the basis for short-term maintenance as well as long-term investment planning. To achieve this, SEMAplus requires your inspection data, information on materials, age and, if available, data on other ageing-relevant pipe properties and environmental factors. This saves you resources, costs and time. At the same time, SEMAplus enables efficient communication between decision-makers thanks to transparent and easy-to-understand results.

SEMAplus-Simulators

With only a limited amount of inspection data, the SEMAplus Pipe Simulator determines the current condition or asset value of your sewer pipes and helps you to localise urgent rehabilitation needs.

The SEMAplus Strategy Simulator forecasts the long-term condition or asset value development of your complete network over several decades, taking all preventive measures into account.

The forecasts are based on the data collected about the inventory and condition and/or on the asset condition of your sewer network.

How does SEMAplus work?

SEMAplus uses statistical methods as well as machine learning techniques. The forecasts are based on the data collected about the inventory and condition of your sewer network. By simulating different reghabilitation strategies and their effect on the network condition of the sewer, a customised and optimised rehabilitation concept can be created according to your individual requirements.

Stand-out features:

  • Precision – even with incomplete data, the models deliver reliable results.

  • Transparency – with SEMAplus, we focus on maximum transparency, and following training, enable you to carry out and adjust the aging forecasts independently. Key information can also be communicated more efficiently and more easily between the responsible individuals as a basis for the decision-making.

  • SEMAplus Community – we offer you the opportunity to join a growing community which develops and optimises the tools on a collaborative basis, including free upgrades. This community includes the Berliner Wasserbetriebe, the largest municipal water supply and wastewater disposal company in Germany.

Our service

Our SEMAplus service package contains various modules which can be adapted individually to the particular challenge presented by your sewer network.

SEMAplus Pipe Simulator
Calculates the probability of defect to sections of sewer pipes and locates the hotspots that are in need of rehabilitation.

SEMAplus Strategy Simulator
Forecasts the state of sewer networks over long periods of time, taking various rehabilitation scenarios into account.

Optional: Individual model adjustment
Consideration of additional customer-specific data to increase the forecasting quality.

  • Quality testing of the status survey

  • Consideration of additional data from the geographical area of the sewer pipes with influence on the development of their condition to increase forecasting accuracy when searching for sewer pipes which require rehabilitation

  • Harmonisation of different coding systems

  • If the condition of the pipe-network is partially unknown: selection of parts of the network to be inspected in order to map the condition of the entire network

  • If the current condition of the network is unknown with incomplete logging data: statistical calculation of the condition of the complete network without further need for inspection

  • Support with the optimisation of the inspection strategy and in the selection of reghabilitation measures

Optional: Filling gaps in the data
Where gaps in the data exist, information on the year of construction and the material of the pipes which is required for the simulators can be supplemented using modelling techniques.

SEMAplus community
Participation in a SEMAplus platform of all users:

  • Moderated technical discussions

  • Optimising tool use

  • Exclusive use of upgrades

Improves forecasts, allows for regular discussions and keeps you up to date from the technical perspective.

Application and Awards

SEMAplus was developed for direct practical application by the Berlin Centre of Competence for Water in close cooperation with Berliner Wasserbetriebe, and has been operational in Berlin since 2019. In the first year of its pilot phase, SEMAplus was awarded the highly-acclaimed Prize for Innovation of the German Association of Municipal Companies.

Do you want to download “{filename}” {filesize}?

In order to optimally design and continuously improve our website for you, we use cookies. By continuing to use the website, you agree to the use of cookies. For more information on cookies, please see our privacy policy.

SEMAplus: Altersvorsorge für Abwasserkanäle

Die öffentlichen Kanalnetze in Deutschland sind zusammen über eine halbe Million Kilometer lang. Diese wertvolle Infrastruktur gilt es zu erhalten. Mit SEMAplus liefern wir mithilfe datenbasierter statistischer Verfahren und künstlicher Intelligenz für diese Herausforderung innovative, nachhaltige und nicht zuletzt kostensparende Lösungen.

Sie benötigen Auskunft über den aktuellen Zustand Ihres gesamten Kanalnetzes sowie eine Sanierungsplanung für die nächsten Jahrzehnte? SEMAplus liefert Ihnen schnell und präzise Informationen und bietet Ihnen die Grundlage für zielgerichtete kurzfristige Instandhaltungen sowie langfristige Investitionsplanungen. SEMAplus benötigt dafür Ihre Inspektionsdaten, Informationen zu Material und Alter sowie, wenn vorhanden, Daten zu weiteren alterungsrelevanten Kanaleigenschaften und Umweltfaktoren. Somit sparen Sie an Ressourceneinsatz, Kosten und Zeit. Zugleich ermöglicht SEMAplus dank transparenter und leicht verständlicher Ergebnisse eine effiziente Kommunikation zwischen Entscheidungstragenden.

SEMAPlus-Simulatoren

Der SEMAplus Haltungssimulator errechnet mit wenigen Inspektionsdaten den aktuellen Zustand oder Substanzwert Ihrer Kanalhaltungen und unterstützt Sie dabei, akuten Sanierungsbedarf zu lokalisieren.

Der SEMAplus Strategiesimulator prognostiziert die langfristige Zustands- oder Substanzentwicklung Ihres gesamten Netzes für mehrere Dekaden unter Berücksichtigung aller Vorsorgemaßnahmen.

Die Prognosen basieren auf den erfassten Daten zum Bestand und Zustand bzw. zur Substanz Ihres Kanalnetzes.

Wie funktioniert SEMAplus?

SEMAplus nutzt statistische Methoden sowie Verfahren des maschinellen Lernens. Die Prognosen basieren auf den erfassten Daten zum Bestand und Zustand Ihres Kanalnetzes. Über die Simulation unterschiedlicher Sanierungsstrategien zur Zustandsentwicklung der Kanäle kann ein maßgeschneidertes und optimiertes Sanierungskonzept gemäß Ihren individuellen Anforderungen erstellt werden. 

Die Besonderheit dabei: 

  • Präzision – Selbst bei lückenhafter Datenlage liefern die Modelle zuverlässige Ergebnisse.

  • Transparenz – Wir setzen bei SEMAplus auf maximale Transparenz und ermöglichen Ihnen nach einer Schulung, die Alterungsprognosen selbstständig durchzuführen und anzupassen. Zudem können entscheidende Informationen so effizienter und leichter verständlich zwischen Verantwortlichen als Grundlage für Entscheidungsfindungen kommuniziert werden.

  • SEMAplus-Community – Wir bieten Ihnen an, sich einer wachsenden Community anzuschließen, die die Tools gemeinsam weiterentwickelt und optimiert, inklusive kostenfreier Upgrades. Dieser Community gehört mit den Berliner Wasserbetrieben der größte kommunale Wasserver- und Abwasserentsorger Deutschlands an. 

Unsere Leistung

Unser SEMAplus-Leistungspaket enthält verschiedene Module, die individuell an die besonderen Herausforderung Ihres Kanalnetzes angepasst werden können.

SEMAplus Haltungssimulator
Berechnet die Wahrscheinlichkeit für Schäden in Kanalhaltungen und lokalisiert sanierungsbedürftige Hotspots.

SEMAplus Strategiesimulator
Prognostiziert den Zustand von Kanalnetzen über lange Zeiträume unter Berücksichtigung verschiedener Sanierungsszenarien.

Optional: Individuelle Modellanpassung
Berücksichtigung von zusätzlichen kundenspezifischen Daten zur Erhöhung der Prognosequalität. 

  • Qualitative Prüfung der Zustandserfassung

  • Berücksichtigung weiterer Daten aus dem Umfeld der Haltungen mit Einfluss auf die Zustandsentwicklung zur Erhöhung der Pronosegenauigkeit bei der Suche nach sanierungsbedürftigen Haltungen

  • Vereinheitlichung unterschiedlicher Kodiersysteme

  • Bei unbekanntem Netzzustand ohne verlässliche Zustandserfassung: Auswahl eines zu befahrenden Teils des Netzes zur Abbildung des Zustands des Gesamtnetzes

  • Bei unbekanntem Netzzustand mit unvollständiger Zustandserfassung: Statistische Errechnung des Zustands des Gesamtnetzes ohne weiteren Inspektionsbedarf

  • Unterstützung bei der Optimierung der Inspektionsstrategie und bei der Auswahl der Sanierungsmaßnahmen 

Optional: Datenlücken schließen
Für die Simulatoren erforderliche Angaben zu Baujahr und Material der Haltungen können im Falle von Datenlücken modellgestützt ergänzt werden.

SEMAplus Community
Teilnahme an einer SEMAplus-Plattform aller Nutzer:innen:

  • Moderierte Fachgespräche

  • Optimierung der Tool-Nutzung

  • Exklusive Nutzung von Upgrades

Verbessert die Prognosen, ermöglicht einen konstanten Erfahrungsaustausch und hält Sie auf dem technisch neuesten Stand.

Anwendung und Auszeichnungen

SEMAplus wurde durch das Kompetenzzentrum Wasser Berlin in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Berliner Wasserbetrieben, direkt für die Praxis entwickelt und ist in Berlin seit 2019 in der betrieblichen Anwendung. Bereits im ersten Jahr seiner Pilotphase wurde SEMAplus mit dem renommierten Innovationspreis des Verbandes kommunaler Unternehmen ausgezeichnet. 

Möchten Sie die „{filename}“ {filesize} herunterladen?

Um unsere Webseite für Sie optimal zu gestalten und fortlaufend verbessern zu können, verwenden wir Cookies. Durch die weitere Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Weitere Informationen zu Cookies erhalten Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.