GeoSalz: Dynamics of saline water migration for early detection of wells at risk and quantification of the hydraulic discharge potential

In the Berlin-Brandenburg region, the salinisation of groundwater, due to the rise of deep saline waters, is a widespread problem. Around 29% of the area is already affected by such geogenic groundwater salinisation. The GeoSalz project is investigating the influence of this on drinking water supplies and possible counter measures.

Depending on the location, up to 3 aquifer complexes are present in the Berlin area, whose available water, in addition to bank filtration and groundwater recharge, secures the drinking water supply of the city of Berlin. These so-called freshwater aquifers are largely hydraulically isolated from the underlying saltwater aquifer by an 80 to 100 meter thick geological unit called the Rupelton. However, at defects in the Rupelton, e.g. at glacial erosion gullies, highly mineralized saltwater may rise, which in many cases irreversibly contaminates the freshwater reservoirs. This may be a natural process, but it can be exacerbated if groundwater pumping causes local hydraulic discharge and contributes to the mobilisation of deep saline groundwaters.

For sustainable resource management, it is necessary to identify such salinity upwelling sites and to better understand the temporal and spatial dynamics of salinisation in the subsurface. The proposed approach includes the combination of investigations of groundwater properties with geophysical measurements and evaluation of hydrochemistry and isotope measurements. In parallel, a hydro-geological structural model and other various models will be developed. The aim of the project is to develop new concepts for well construction and operation, particularly at affected well fields, for sustainable well operation.

Project partner
Financing

Do you want to download “{filename}” {filesize}?

In order to optimally design and continuously improve our website for you, we use cookies. By continuing to use the website, you agree to the use of cookies. For more information on cookies, please see our privacy policy.

GeoSalz: Dynamik des Salzwasseraufstiegs zur Früherkennung gefährdeter Brunnen und Quantifizierung des hydraulischen Entlastungspotentials

In der Region Berlin-Brandenburg ist die Versalzung von Grundwasser durch den Aufstieg salinarer Tiefenwässer ein weitverbreitetes Problem. Rund 29% der Fläche ist bereits von dieser geogenen Grundwasserversalzung betroffen. Den Einfluss dieser Versalzung auf die Trinkwasserversorgung und mögliche Gegenmaßnahmen untersucht das Projekt GeoSalz.

Im Raum Berlin stehen – je nach Standort – bis zu 3 Grundwasserleiterkomplexe zur Verfügung, deren nutzbares Wasserdargebot in Ergänzung zu Uferfiltration und Grundwasseranreicherung die Trinkwasserversorgung der Stadt Berlin sichert. Dieses sogenannte Süßwasserstockwerk wird durch eine 80 bis 100 Meter dicke geologische Einheit, den Rupelton, hydraulisch weitgehend vom darunter liegenden Salzwasserstockwerk isoliert. An Fehlstellen des Rupeltons, z.B. an kaltzeitlichen Erosionsrinnen, kann es jedoch zum Aufstieg hoch konzentrierter Salzwässer kommen, welches die Süßwasserspeicher in vielen Fällen irreversibel kontaminiert. Dies kann ein natürlicher Prozess sein, der jedoch verstärkt werden kann, wenn die Grundwasserförderung lokal eine hydraulische Entlastung bewirkt und zu einer Mobilisierung salinarer Tiefenwässer beiträgt.

Für eine nachhaltige Bewirtschaftung der Ressourcen ist es notwendig, Salzaufstiegsstellen zu identifizieren und die zeitliche und räumliche Dynamik der Versalzung im Untergrund besser zu verstehen. Der vorgeschlagene Ansatz beinhaltet die Kombination von Untersuchungen der Grundwasserbeschaffenheit mit geophysikalischen Messungen sowie der Auswertung von Hydrochemie und Isotopenmessungen. Parallel werden ein hydrogeologisches Strukturmodell und verschiedene Modelle erstellt. Ziel des Projekts ist es, neue Konzepte für den Brunnenbau und -betrieb an besonders betroffenen Galerien für einen nachhaltigen Brunnenbetrieb zur Vermeidung von Salzwasseraufstieg  zu entwickeln.

Projektpartner
Finanzierung

Möchten Sie die „{filename}“ {filesize} herunterladen?

Um unsere Webseite für Sie optimal zu gestalten und fortlaufend verbessern zu können, verwenden wir Cookies. Durch die weitere Nutzung der Webseite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Weitere Informationen zu Cookies erhalten Sie in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.